40 useful French text message abbreviations


Texting

Call me old(-fashioned) but I just cannot get into abbreviating what I type! So, yes, it takes me for-e-ver….

When I see my kids’ texts, I am just amazed at this whole new language they seem to be using with such ease!

And I feel very very old(-fashioned)…

So here is a list of common French text abbreviations you (and I) might find useful:

A + à plus tard see you later
a2m1 à demain see you tomorrow
auj aujourd’hui today
bjr bonjour hello
biz bisous kisses
b1 bien well
C c’est it is
CC coucou HI
C ca C’est ça that’s it
CT c’était it was
DQP dès que possible as soon as possible
DSL désolé(e) sorry
G j’ai I have
ir hier yesterday
Je c je sais I know
jms jamais never
jtm je t’aime I love you
kan quand when
Ki qui who
Koi29 Quoi de neuf ? What’s up ?
Koi quoi what
MDR Mort de rire LOL
mr6 merci thank you
nrv énervé angry
OQP occupé(e) busy
p-ê peut-être maybe
pkoi pourquoi why
PTDR pété de rire LMAO
QDN quoi de neuf ? What’s up ?
QQC quelque chose something
QQ1 quelqu’un someoneX
rdv rendez-vous meeting
slt salut hi
STP s’il te plait please
T t’es you are
tjs toujours always
TOK t’es ok? are you ok?
tps temps time, weather
XLnt excellent  
5pa sympa nice

 

 

Time for fun!

Try and decipher those French texts (answers below):

 

  • « Slt! koi29 ? Tu fais koi auj? »
  • « CC ! TOK ?  on se voit 2M1 ? ta QQC de prévu ? »
  • « T tjs OQP ? Ce serait 5pa d’aller au resto ? »
  • « DSL pour ir. Gt nrv. jtm »

 

 

Answers :
  • Salut ! Tu fais quoi aujourd’hui ?
  • Coucou ! T’es ok ? On se voit demain ? T’as quelque chose de prévu ?
  • T’es toujours occupé ? Ce serait sympa d’aller au restaurant ?
  • Désolé pour hier. J’étais énervé. Je t’aime.
Leave a Reply

